I had no idea the kind of pressure you’re under. Honey, I was just here for two hours.
I could barely hold it together. I don’t know how you don’t have a meltdown every day.No, but seriously I watched this episode and the scene where Claire tells Alex the above quote and, I kid you not, I almost started to cry. Because, honestly, the route Alex takes in high school (the AP, SAT, advanced classes, extracurriculars, get into a good collage route) is similar to what I did in high school and it was fucking hard and EXHAUSTING! I loved when Claire pointed out the study hours to the teacher and how much bullshit it was because honestly, with classes, studying, and extra curriculars, you barely have time to sleep. And when you point this out to your average AP teacher (or any teacher really), 9 times out of 10 their response is ” well, collage is going to be even harder, so if you can’t handle this, blah blah blah” but what they never fucking mention is the fact that YOU DON’T HAVE THE SAME COLLAGE CLASSES EVERY FUCKING DAY. You’ve got more time to do your work and all the other shit you have to because the oh-so-hard collage classes they love mentioning only happen one or twice a week.
Seriously, I’m a former AP student and an honors student at my current collage and i work a part time job and I always say High School was WAY more, stressful and exhausting. Shit’s changed since our parents went to high school and I’m glad Modern Family took a moment to point that out.